Skip to content


41 Years of service to our Industry and Communities in Skagit & Island Counties!

Our Mission

Established in 1979, we are your neighbors and community leaders, providing education and support for building industry professionals. We promote jobs for local people by encouraging homeownership, sustainable growth, environmentally sound building practices and community stewardship for Skagit and Island Counties.


In the beginning, members of our industry held meetings knowing that the economy of the time was not adequately supporting our industry. Their concern for housing launched SICBA on its way to what it is today.

On June 20, 1979 four (4) farsighted individuals met to discuss whether the building industry in Skagit and Island Counties should join with Seattle, join Whatcom County or form a separate association.

On June 28, 1979, the vote was cast among the players and it was overwhelmingly determined that a separate association serving Skagit and Island Counties should be formed. Membership grew from the start.

On June 20th, there were only 4 members, but on August 20th, 1979, 22 Builders and 30 Associates applied for National Charter. Paperwork was completed and SICBA received its charter from the National Association of Home Builders on October 14, 1979.

Upcoming Events

What SICBA Means to Me

Our History. Our Heritage. Our Heroes.

SICBA's Return on Industrial Insurance Program

The Great Recession


Wounded Warriors in Action Cabin Build

SICBA Playhouse Challenge

35th Anniversary Introduction - Josh Baldwin

Chicken Challenge and SICBA Chicken Dance

B&B Construction

Back Alley Construction

Bestway Construction

Bodin Construction

Brachvogel Construction

Brown-McMillan Realty

Bruce Johnson Contractor

BWB Construction

CE Stevens Sales

Cannon Realty

Cascade Natural Gas

Century 21 Dean Kelly

Chalet Properties Inc

Chicago Title Co

Columbia Mortgage Svc

Columbia Mortgage

Concrete Nor'west

Cricket Construction

David James Realty

Dawson Construction

Dennis Construction

Design Consultants

Dujardin Custom Homes

Elliott W Johnson

Esary Roofing & Siding

Everett Brother Construction

Fisher & Sons

G & E Construction

George Churchill & Assoc.

Goode Roofing Co

Hamming Construction

Herb Wilkins, Architect

Hughley Peterson Const

Island Overhead Door

Island Savings & Loan

James Lofren Const

Joe Toussint Const

Johnson Masonry

JP Souza Builder

Kaaland Const

Kingsgate Devlp. (Mitzel & Assoc)

Koetje Agency

Koetje Const (Pioneer Const)

LaConner Realty

Land Home Properties

Land Title Company

LaVoy Inc

LuFran Inc

McDowell & CO

Meriwether Leachman Assoc

Mt Vernon Carpet Ctr

Mt Baker Bank (Banner Bank)

North Island RE

Northeast Carpet & Lineol

Northern Lights

Olympic Forest Products

Person & Person Homes

Piazza Construction Inc

Pioneer Title (Guardian Northwest)

PTL Sign & Design

Puget Power (PSE)

Ram Construction Co

Ramon Construction

Sid's Electric

Snohomish Lumber Co

Spring Homes

St. Regis Lumber Yard

Strom Realty

T&M Builders

T.L. Holmgren

Thomas Brothers

Thomas Heating

Thompson Built Homes

Tiz's Door Sales

VEC Corporation

Valley River Custom Homes

VanderWal Masonry

Westwood of Skagit Vly

Whidbey Island Builders

Windsor Backhoe

Woodinville Lumber (Cascade Lumber)

Over the years, SICBA has enjoyed the leadership of many dedicated professionals. Some even became PRESIDENT of the State Association, BIAW!

BIAW Presidents

Gordon Koetje — 1984

John Piazza — 1992

Dottie Piazza — 2002

Jeff Hansell — 2006

Ted Clifton - 2017

BIAW 2nd Vice Presidents

Rick Tremaine — 2002

Bob Moe — 2006

Scott Rainwater — 2011

Don Hughley — 1979

Bruce Johnson — 1980

Gordon Koetje — 1981

Dan Mitzel — 1982

Ben Westberg — 1983

Addison Johnson — 1984

Joe Souza — 1985

Marlene Westberg — 1986

John Piazza — 1987

Dan Folkers — 1988

John Whitney — 1989

Dottie Piazza — 1990

Keith Swanson — 1991

Beth Folkers — 1992

Bob Bodin — 1993

Ron Wallin — 1994

Ed Stanton — 1995-96

Ed Finlan — 1997-98

Jeff Hansell — 1999-00

Ted Clifton — 2001

Bob Johnson — 2002

Walt Johnson — 2003-04

Bob Johnson — 2005

Brian Gentry — 2006

Dennis Taylor — 2007

Scott Yonkman — 2008

Chris Deasy — 2009-10

Jim Spane — 2011

Ben Burton — 2012

Gary Wray — 2013

Thom Richter — 2014

Thom Richter — 2015

Josh Baldwin — 2016

Dave Hillman - 2017

Jay Roberts - 2018-19

Kim Piazza - 2020

Scroll To Top