• History/Growth

  • 41 Years of service to our Industry and Communities in Skagit & Island Counties!

    Our Mission

    Established in 1979, we are your neighbors and community leaders, providing education and support for building industry professionals. We promote jobs for local people by encouraging homeownership, sustainable growth, environmentally sound building practices and community stewardship for Skagit and Island Counties.


    In the beginning, members of our industry held meetings knowing that the economy of the time was not adequately supporting our industry. Their concern for housing launched SICBA on its way to what it is today.

    On June 20, 1979 four (4) farsighted individuals met to discuss whether the building industry in Skagit and Island Counties should join with Seattle, join Whatcom County or form a separate association.

    On June 28, 1979, the vote was cast among the players and it was overwhelmingly determined that a separate association serving Skagit and Island Counties should be formed. Membership grew from the start.

    On June 20th, there were only 4 members, but on August 20th, 1979, 22 Builders and 30 Associates applied for National Charter. Paperwork was completed and SICBA received its charter from the National Association of Home Builders on October 14, 1979.

  • What SICBA Means to Me
  • SICBA's Return on Industrial Insurance Program
  • Politics
  • SICBA Playhouse Challenge
  • Chicken Challenge and SICBA Chicken Dance
  • Our History. Our Heritage. Our Heroes.
  • The Great Recession
  • Wounded Warriors in Action Cabin Build
  • 35th Anniversary Introduction - Josh Baldwin
  • Charter Members

  • B&B Construction

    Back Alley Construction

    Bestway Construction

    Bodin Construction

    Brachvogel Construction

    Brown-McMillan Realty

    Bruce Johnson Contractor

    BWB Construction

    CE Stevens Sales

    Cannon Realty

    Cascade Natural Gas

    Century 21 Dean Kelly

    Chalet Properties Inc

    Chicago Title Co

    Columbia Mortgage Svc

    Columbia Mortgage

    Concrete Nor'west

    Cricket Construction

    David James Realty

    Dawson Construction

    Dennis Construction

    Design Consultants

    Dujardin Custom Homes

    Elliott W Johnson

    Esary Roofing & Siding

    Everett Brother Construction

    Fisher & Sons

  • G & E Construction

    George Churchill & Assoc.

    Goode Roofing Co

    Hamming Construction

    Herb Wilkins, Architect

    Hughley Peterson Const

    Island Overhead Door

    Island Savings & Loan

    James Lofren Const

    Joe Toussint Const

    Johnson Masonry

    JP Souza Builder

    Kaaland Const

    Kingsgate Devlp. (Mitzel & Assoc)

    Koetje Agency

    Koetje Const (Pioneer Const)

    LaConner Realty

    Land Home Properties

    Land Title Company

    LaVoy Inc

    LuFran Inc

    McDowell & CO

    Meriwether Leachman Assoc

    Mt Vernon Carpet Ctr

    Mt Baker Bank (Banner Bank)

    North Island RE

    Northeast Carpet & Lineol

  • Northern Lights

    Olympic Forest Products

    Person & Person Homes

    Piazza Construction Inc

    Pioneer Title (Guardian Northwest)

    PTL Sign & Design

    Puget Power (PSE)

    Ram Construction Co

    Ramon Construction

    Sid's Electric

    Snohomish Lumber Co

    Spring Homes

    St. Regis Lumber Yard

    Strom Realty

    T&M Builders

    T.L. Holmgren

    Thomas Brothers

    Thomas Heating

    Thompson Built Homes

    Tiz's Door Sales

    VEC Corporation

    Valley River Custom Homes

    VanderWal Masonry

    Westwood of Skagit Vly

    Whidbey Island Builders

    Windsor Backhoe

    Woodinville Lumber (Cascade Lumber)

  • SICBA’S Leadership

  • Over the years, SICBA has enjoyed the leadership of many dedicated professionals. Some even became PRESIDENT of the State Association, BIAW!

  • BIAW Presidents

    Gordon Koetje — 1984

    John Piazza — 1992

    Dottie Piazza — 2002

    Jeff Hansell — 2006

    Ted Clifton - 2017

  • BIAW 2nd Vice Presidents

    Rick Tremaine — 2002

    Bob Moe — 2006

    Scott Rainwater — 2011

  • SICBA’S Presidents

  • Don Hughley — 1979

    Bruce Johnson — 1980

    Gordon Koetje — 1981

    Dan Mitzel — 1982

    Ben Westberg — 1983

    Addison Johnson — 1984

    Joe Souza — 1985

    Marlene Westberg — 1986

    John Piazza — 1987

    Dan Folkers — 1988

    John Whitney — 1989

    Dottie Piazza — 1990

    Keith Swanson — 1991

    Beth Folkers — 1992

    Bob Bodin — 1993

    Ron Wallin — 1994

    Ed Stanton — 1995-96

  • Ed Finlan — 1997-98

    Jeff Hansell — 1999-00

    Ted Clifton — 2001

    Bob Johnson — 2002

    Walt Johnson — 2003-04

    Bob Johnson — 2005

    Brian Gentry — 2006

    Dennis Taylor — 2007

    Scott Yonkman — 2008

    Chris Deasy — 2009-10

    Jim Spane — 2011

    Ben Burton — 2012

    Gary Wray — 2013

    Thom Richter — 2014

    Thom Richter — 2015

    Josh Baldwin — 2016

    Dave Hillman - 2017

    Jay Roberts - 2018-19

    Kim Piazza - 2020

  • Upcoming Events